Requiem For The Truth


Truth, we are told, is dead. If so, then who organises the funeral?

Stomptown Brass, the outrageously energetic 10-piece street-funk band, and Collapsing Horse, the most exciting young theatre company in Ireland, in this co-production, take on an audacious task: to host a funeral for the Truth.

Witness the colourful exuberance of the Haitian Voodoo-inspired New Orleans jazz funeral as it smashes up against the mournful, solemn ceremony of Roman Catholicism.

An extravagant, chaotic street party, with a dark twist.

– Reviews
‘Unique, poignant and clever cross cultural fusion of theme, music, location and experience. With the added bonus of unexpectedly dancing in the street to a live New Orleans style brass band. Loved it.’
– Avril Stanley, Festival Director, Body&Soul

‘Requiem for the Truth was an incredible and epic experience for the Dublin Fringe audiences and a spectacular way to close out the 2017 festival. The show was full of drama, impact and adrenaline. It was engaging and enchanting from start to finish.’
– Kris Nelson, Artistic Director, LIFT – London International Festival of Theatre

‘A total immersive spectacle with amazing music and performances, a perfect celebration to the end of truth.’
– Cian O’Brien, Artistic Director, Project Arts Centre

‘Stomptown Brass and Collapsing Horse closed out the 2017 edition of Dublin Fringe Festival in invigorating and exuberant style. Requiem for the Truth thrilled our audiences, combining the talents of two exciting Irish artistic collectives to offer a truly unique gig experience with magical flourishes they’ll remember for years to come’
– Ruth McGowan, Festival Director, Dublin Fringe

– Production

Co-Produced by Collapsing Horse + Stomptown Brass

St. Werburgh’s Church, Dublin Fringe, 2017

St. Jacob’s Church, Bergen Fringe, 2018

Christchurch, Imagine Arts Festival, 2018

Nano Nagle Chapel, Cork Jazz Fest, 2018

Pepper Canister Church, 2018

– Cast + Crew
Created and Co-Directed by Robert Grant
Co-Directed by Dan Colley
Produced by  Matthew Smyth + Liam Ryan
Sound Designed by Peter Power
Music Composed + Directed by James O’Leary

Cast (original)
Ruth McGill

Robert Grant
Liam Ryan
James O’Leary
Finnian Kelly
Kieran Sharkey
Lorcan Brennan
Brian Larkin
Darragh McGrath
Conor McSweeney
Brendan Doherty
Luke Byrne